9 Places to See in Nashville | Brit Abroad

Nashville is my favourite place in America. I know that probably seems a strange place to be a favourite when most would choose bustling NYC, or laid back Santa Cruz, but I love it.

I’m not entirely sure what it is about Nashville that I like so much. Maybe it’s because of the Southern hospitality, the food, the country music in every bar and restaurant, that it’s busy but it’s small. Whatever it is, I love it here. This was my second time in Nashville and I fortunately had a bit more time to explore, so here are five places I recommend to go in Nashville.

  1. Downtown Nashville.

img_1928-copy.jpg

A trip to Nashville wouldn’t be complete without heading downtown. The main strip on Broadway is packed with bars and restaurants, with sounds of country music drifting out into the street. This is where the tourists will be and where stags and hens will be peddling their party bikes up and down. Aside from being an obvious tourist trap, it’s hard not to get into the party spirit here. Honky Tonk, Acme, Tootsies and Tequila Cowboy are all must stops along the way. However almost any bar you go into will have a great band playing and an even better atmosphere.

2. The Country Music Hall of Fame.

14089205_10154505831204612_562059680160869834_n

I really like Country Music, but I still feel like it’s an interesting stop off even if you have no idea who Garth Brooks is. Obviously the whole place centres around country music, which for me is awesome, but it also has some interactive sections too. You can head into a recording studio and try your hand at being a country star.

3. Centennial Park and the Parthenon

cent

We headed to Centennial Park late Friday afternoon to check out the Parthenon. It’s pretty cool but coming from Europe, honestly I wasn’t all that bothered. However there was quite a bit going on in the park that made our trip over really worthwhile. There was a shakespeare play going on, in the park, and a bunch of food trucks and stalls. I had a watermelon and strawberry lemonade and it was amazing.

14202557_10154526921814612_7391304590294744535_n

4. 12th South

Miles away from the downtown atmosphere, 12th South almost reminded me of pockets of London, with a Tennessee twist. It’s a really cute little area with a great selection of bars and restaurants. We grabbed barbecue at Eldey’s and it was amazing. The moonshine on special was really good too!

5. Vols Football game.

14115554_10154518722484612_220076772211171866_o14124871_10154518722619612_1500548120805404182_o14138197_10154518723919612_18447519779229287_o

I have always wanted to go to a high school football game, having watched Friday Night Lights. I didn’t make it to one, but I did get to go to a college game in Knoxville. It was really cool. I didn’t expect it to be such a big deal, but the stadium was nicer than some of our footy games back home. There was tail-gating and a parade, cheerleaders and a band. It was a huge thing. The atmosphere was insane, and it made me want to stay here forever.

6. Whitts and Cookout.

Screen Shot 2016-09-04 at 23.27.42.png

I am in love with Whitts. I haven’t had a jacket potato in three years of being away and was super excited to see it on the menu. Friends of ours took us to Whitts in Hermitage, outside of Nashville and it is my favourite place to eat. If you passed it in the street you wouldn’t think much of it, but the food is so yummy. Get the loaded potato with pulled pork.

Cookout was a quick stop off in Nashville after a night of live music. It was packed! But the food came out quicker than any other fast food joint I have been to. Grab a milkshake with your meal – you won’t be disappointed.

7. Bluebird Cafe

bbird

I never actually made it inside the Bluebird cafe, we tried twice and both times got there too late and the line up was huge! However I have been told it is a must stop and I would have loved to go in there. A couple of my friends had gone the week before, and even the guy who hadn’t watched ‘Nashville’ loved it. Maybe next time I’ll make it inside.

8. Grand Ole Opry

14225352_10154526919874612_2671927116458627886_n

Another country music must. We went around the Opry and took the tour, it was pretty cool to see backstage and get a bit of the history. I would have loved to have seen a show there as well. Opposite the Opry and a short stroll is Opryland; a huge hotel and resort. It is insane. It is kind of like the crazy hotels you would get in Vegas, but with more of a Country twist. We grabbed some food there, at a sports bar called Fuse – the wings were really good.

9. Jack Daniels Distillery

img_1852-copy

Jack Daniels is not in Nashville, it is actually about an hour and a half away, but if you get the chance and have a car head out to Lynchburg to check out the distillery. The tour guides are awesome in taking you back in time and explaining how the popular whisky is made. Lynchburg is a really cute American town too and a dry county, so no buying alcohol here!

 

 

Leave a comment